Guide to Research and Reference Services

  • Reference Tips
  • Planning a Research Visit
  • Research Registration
  • Using Archival Materials
  • Handling Archival Materials
  • When submitting a request by telephone, mail, fax or email, please prepare the following details as specifically as possible: subject of search (if a person, full name and correct spelling); relevant dates; sources already consulted; whether the subject of research may be shared with others.


    Reference Tips

    Tips for inquiring about information from the Medical Center Archives:

  • Ask a specific question.
  • Include identifying details such as names, dates, places, etc. (If submitting a request by mail or fax, consider including photocopies of any relevant documentation you already have.)
  • Mention any published or archival sources you have already consulted.
  • Mention any previous correspondence or contact with the Medical Center Archives.

    The Archivist can:

  • Recommend sources for a research visit to the Medical Center Archives.
  • Give instruction on the Medical Center Archives' research tools, resources, and policies.
  • Answer questions about the sources in the Medical Center Archives during the research visit.
  • Prepare requested materials prior to the research visit.
  • Answer quick reference questions via email, mail, fax, or telephone, such as:
    • On what date was Rush Medical College founded?
    • When did my relative graduate from St. Luke's Hospital School of Nursing?
    • Does the Archives have a reference file on __________?

    Examples of research questions for which a research visit is required:

  • I need copies and/or all the information you have on [person/subject].
  • I need to look at all of your photographs of [person/subject].
    Planning a Research Visit

    Research Hours
    Monday-Friday 9 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

    By appointment only.

    Due to remodeling construction and staffing changes, the Rush Archives cannot currently accept walk-in researchers. Please contact the Archives in advance for a research appointment.

    If you are planning to research at the Rush University Medical Center Archives, please prepare for your visit using the process outlined on our contact page. Research Registration


    The Medical Center Archives staff asks that you work with us to preserve our unique, irreplaceable and fragile records by observing our policies for access and use.

  • Upon entry, users must sign in to the Daily Register and provide an acceptable form of photographic identification.
  • Users will be asked to read and sign a Client Registration Form, which provides the guidelines for using the Medical Center Archives, on their first visit.
  • Signing the Client Registration Form acknowledges your understanding and acceptance of the Medical Center Archives' policies and procedures.
  • Reseachers must also sign the Archives' Daily Register on each visit.
  • Coats, handbags, briefcases, backpacks, packages and purses are not permitted in the research area. (The Medical Center Archives provides a secure storeroom )
  • Download the Client Registration Form (PDF)


    Using Archival Materials

    The Medical Center Archives is a permanent repository for unique, rare, and representative records. The Medical Center Archives are closed-stack collections; researchers are not permitted in the stacks area. All materials must be brought to clients by Medical Center Archives staff, and must be used in the designated research areas only. The staff will provide researchers with finding aids to the collections. Materials do not circulate and may not be removed from the Medical Center Archives.

    The Medical Center Archives subscribes to relevant statutory authority and regulatory codes, institutional restrictions, the Society of American Archivists' Code of Ethics for Archivists, the Association of College and Research Libraries' Standards for Ethical Conduct for Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Librarians, and the ALA-SAA Joint Statement on Access: Guidelines for Access to Original Research Materials, adopted by the Society of American Archivists and the Association of College and Research Libraries in August, 1994.

    Much of the archival materials in the Medical Center Archives are open and available for research. Please note that certain records may be restricted by statute, by office of origin, or by the donors.

    The researcher must assume full responsibility for fulfilling the terms connected with any restricted materials. The Medical Center Archives also reserves the right to restrict the use of unprocessed or fragile materials.


    Handling Archival Materials
    • Researchers may only use materials from one archival collection at a time, and items must remain in their original order.
    • Researchers must wear white cotton gloves, provided by the Medical Center Archives, when they handle photographic materials and artifacts.
    • When researchers wish to request copies of an item, they will mark its location with flags provided by the archives. Researchers should never remove items from their folders.
    • Researchers may not mark or fold any archival materials.
    • Researchers may use a laptop computer as they research. (Sufficient electrical outlets are available in research areas.)
    • The Archives prohibits pens in research areas. It provides pencils for researcher use.
    • Researchers may not eat, drink, or smoke in the Medical Center Archives.

    Return to Medical Center Archives Home Page